PDX Networker

Connecting small businesses for fun and profit…

Plagiarism or Free Publicity?

I was kicking around BuzzMachine earlier, and got to reading about Viacom yanking  all its clips from YouTube, including the Comedy Central and MTV bits.

Seems a bit silly to me. As one reader pointed out, they had never watched John Stewart until they saw him in his soon-to-be famous interview with Bill Gates. I would think that this kind of free publicity is exactly what a organization like Viacom would want.

I guess the question is where do you draw the line between free publicity and plagiarism? If that’s even the right term for it (feel free to correct me on that.)

If someone (or a whole lot of someones..hint…hint…) wanted to post the first chapter of one of my novels on their site for people to read (which is what I do) I’d be happy as pigs in…well, I’d be pretty dang happy. Now if they wanted to post the whole book – that would be a different issue.

Did I just answer my own question?

-Perk

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

