PDX Networker

Connecting small businesses for fun and profit…

Tacky & Tasteless (aka The Media)…

pig1.jpg
Alex Eckelberry, at SunBeltBLOG, ran a post today titled, “The definition of audacity.” 

Apparently there’s a online news software provider who’s using the VA Tech tragedy in an advertising link for thier services.

This got me thinking…

First of all, I totally agree with Alex…tasteless and tacky.

That said, (and maybe I’m just snarky due to lack of caffeine) but this is an ad for a news media provider, right? Shouldn’t “tacky & tasteless” be fairly expected?

I was watching the press conference yesterday on the tragedy, as a room full of reporters were rooting like pigs in slop for a juicy bit of controversy to use for their next headline.  Very little remorse or real concern was evident… just a lot of accusations and innuendo in hopes of getting a compelling sound bite.

Didn’t do much for my respect for that industry.

(Okay, that’s really not a fair statement, as I didn’t really have much respect for them before, this only confirmed my negative opinion.)

Reminds me of a great line by James Cromwell, from the movie Deep Impact

“I know you’re just a reporter, but you used to be a person, right?”

Sadly, as tacky and exploitive as this ad link is, I don’t think it’s out of character.

Your thoughts?

-Perry

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Tacky & Tasteless (aka The Media)…

  1. Mary Lou on said:

    The saddest part about them is that we as a people created them. “We” demand to have the dirt, if any of those rooting hogs do find a new glimmer of dirt, the masses will be tuned in and watching that vultures station. It’s the whole slowing down to see the accident syndrom. A teacher donating her hair to the cancer society when one of her students gets cancer barely makes a byline in section W of the paper, but if you can get her to sleep with one of the students…THEN you have got a story. I don’t know how or if we can ever change it…I get all my news from the computer so I personally avoid clicking on any stories that are spending more time reveling in the dirt than explaining what happened, needless to say I spend a lot of time cursing under my breath and wishing I hadn’t clicked on some site.
    Well that’s my rant for the day, that being said have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

