PDX Networker

Connecting small businesses for fun and profit…

A little gun history

NOTE: I’ve gotten a few comments this week regarding a former blog post on guns.
This post is from Guest Blogger Mary Lou (a regular here) in response…
-Perk
I Thought you might appreciate this . .
In 1929, the Soviet Union established gun control. From 1929 to 1953, about 20 million dissidents, unable to defend themselves, were rounded up and exterminated.
In 1911, Turkey established gun control. From 1915 to 1917, 1.5 million Armenians, unable to defend themselves, were rounded up and exterminated.
Germany established gun control in 1938 and from 1939 to 1945, a total of 13 million Jews and others who were unable to defend themselves were rounded up and exterminated.
China established gun control in 1935. From 1948 to 1952,  20 million political dissidents, unable to defend themselves, were ro unded up and exterminated.
Guatemala established gun control in 1964. From 1964 to 1981, 100,000 Mayan Indians, unable to defend themselves, were rounded up and exterminated.
Uganda established gun control in 1970. From 1971 to 1979, 300,000 Christians, unable to defend themselves, were rounded up and exterminated.
Cambodia established gun control in 1956. From 1975 to 1977, one million ‘educated’ people, unable to defend themselves, were rounded up and exterminated.
Defenseless people rounded up and exterminated in the 20th Century because of gun control: 56 million.
It has now been 12 months since gun owners in Australia were forced by new law to surrender 640,381 personal firearms to be destroyed by their own government,&nbs p; a program costing
Australia taxpayers more than $500 million dollars.  The first year results are now in:
List of 7 items:
Australia-wide, homicides are up 3.2 percent Australia-wide, assaults are up 8.6 percent Australia-wide, armed robberi es are up 44 percent (yes, 44 percent)!
In the state of Victoria alone, homicides with firearms are now up 300 percent. Note that while the law-abiding citizens turned them in, the criminals did not, and criminals still possess their guns.
While figures over the previous 25 years showed a steady decrease in armed robbery with firearms, this has changed drastically upward in the past 12 months, since criminals now are guaranteed that their prey is unarmed.
There has also been a dramatic increase in break-ins and assaults of the ELDERLY. Australian politicians are at a loss to explain how public safety has decreased, after such monumental effort and expense was expended in successfully ridding Australian society of guns. The Australian experience and the other historical facts above prove it.
You won’t see this data on the US evening news, or hear politicians disseminating this information. Guns in the hands of honest citizens save lives and property and, yes, gun-control laws adversely affect only the law-abiding citizens.
The next time someone talks in favor of gun control, please remind them of this history lesson.
With guns, we are ‘citizens’.
Without them, we are ‘subjects’.
During WWII the Japanese decided not to invade America because they knew most Americans were ARMED!
If you value your freedom, Please spread this anti-gun control message to all of your friends.
Thank you,
Mary Lou
Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “A little gun history

  1. Pingback: Firearms Articles » Blog Archive » A little gun history

  2. Dinana on said:

    And now a view from the left side:

    Mary Lou, you ignorant slut! (God Bless SNL…and you’re the one who uses a girls name)…

    I understand that people want guns. Some even hunt! However, I fail to see the need for AK-47’s in the hands of everyday people, nor cop killer bullets. Do you?

    Like other sensitive issues, I don’t forsee a day when guns are taken away…I do think there is room for reason and limitations, however!

  3. Dinana…

    Did…did you actually bother to read this post? I didn’t think so.

    Two points. First, the AK-47 that you mention (and I’m sure you know nothing about) is probably the fully-auto machine gun that you’ve seen in dozens of Hollywood movies (btw, if you’re looking for someone to blame for gun violence in our country…)

    This weapon happens to be one of the hardest types of weapons for ANYONE to obtain, requiring a ton of special licenses and fees.

    Please list below a single shooting committed in America with this weapon. (A weaon which, btw, you cannot hunt deer with in any of the 50 states.)

    Same with your “cop-killer” bullets (another favorite of Hollywood).

    I assume that you’re talking about teflon-jacketed ammunition. Here’s a little test for you, go to your local gun shop and ask if you can buy some…see what they say. Again, even if this type of muntion WERE available to the public, when was it last used in a crime? Do the students at our universities, the kids at our highschools, or the patrons of our malls wear kevlar? If not, good-old lead-ball ammo would kill them just as easily (and did) as you’re “cop-killers.”

    This is simply another scare-phrase that the anti-gun agenda likes to toss around to frighten and incite the ignorant.

    Second:

    “I don’t forsee a day when guns are taken away…”

    Ah, Warsaw, Poland…1938.

    Leave it to a liberal to find a good quote from Hitler.

    -Perk

  4. Dinana on said:

    Well, pardon me for not choosing the “right” gun for my response…of course, it should be the 38 special.

    Hey, I’ve thought of taking shooting lessons…I’m not particularly anti gun, but I dislike when people trot out the nazi examples when election time swings around. I’m sure “Mary Lou” was touting the NRA line to the letter. I’ll even wager that “they” didn’t write that, but rather, cut and pasted it out of an sample that was provided.

    Rhetoric is rhetoric, whichever “side” your on, you back woods, knuckle dragging, red neck! (said with love and respect, of course!)

  5. Dinana…

    Hmmm…so, no actual answers to my questions?

    I thought not.

    Thanks for your post.

    -Perk

  6. Dinana on said:

    gEE pERRY,

    As I stated before, I would rather not get into a “you quote your statistics, and I’ll quote mine” scenario. I also stated that the “correct gun of choice” is the 38 special.

    Do you want to have a meaningful dialog or just go back to your stereotype?

    I can go either way…

  7. So you want me to stop using facts to support my position, and just argue for arguments sake?

    Wow, you ARE a liberal!

    lol,

    -Perk

  8. Mary Lou on said:

    Wow!!!
    All that over a few facts? I’m an “ignorant slut”?! Do you need a hug? Let me know when you are having a bad day and I will avoid any tense issues. Sheesh
    By the way I did not say anywhere up there that I wanted to get rid of the laws we have in place already (except for maybe a few of the really liberal areas, ironically where crime rates are the highest…hmm). My opinion is that we don’t need more. As for the Ak 47 or the cop killers you mentioned Perry pretty much covered it; they are very difficult to get and not legal for most citizens anyways. Those that do have them, spent a lot of time and money to get them and they know they are on a dozen government lists for having them. The last thing they want to do is anything irresponsible that would get those guns taken away from them. Now for the .38 specials, yes a very commonly used weapon in homicides, but how many are LEGALLY owned? How many of these crimes were permitted by the people that have taken the time to get a concealed weapons permit? It’s been a few years since I recieved my conceal permit, but at the time the stats were less than 1% by CHL carriers.
    Consistently when you lower the level of legal gun owners in an area you raise the crime rates. Don’t believe me? Look up the cities with highest crime rates and then look up the laws governing guns in that city.
    Tell me again how this belief makes me ignorant? (as for the slut part, that may have fit once, but that was a long time ago and I was young)

  9. dinana on said:

    Mary Lou,

    You have a “concealed gun permit???” i’ll shut up now…and…uh…i’ve moved to…uh…Wisconsin…yeah that’s it…wisconsin!

    Really, i was just quoting SNL…i don’t know you and can’t really say if you’re a slut…

    it sounds like cut and paste, NRA fodder that’s all. i’m sure it’s enough to get that “free membership for a year if you spread our gospel” offer they have going on right now.

  10. Mary Lou on said:

    Dinana it was recently sent to me so I sent it on to Perry as he was talking about a new comment on his old blog.

    I moved to a new state and haven’t gotten around to getting another chl so you are safe there as well.

    I will tell you now you have me curious and I am going to have to try and look up the SNL reference; it sounds hillarious. I am also going to look up the NRA and see if I can get the free membership for the fodder passing I have done.

    As for me being a slut, you know some of my friends so there are many conclusions you can come to if you judge me by the company I keep. You don’t exactly expect a lot out of friends of Perry.

  11. Mary Lou,

    Classic SNL, Dan Akroyd and Jane Curtain in the original newsdesk bits…

    “Originally an ad hominem attack against Jane Curtin by Dan Akroyd on Saturday Night Live during Weekend Update. At that time, it featured a “Point/Counterpoint”; in which Jane made one point, and Dan would prefix his counterpoint with this phrase.

    More recently, it has become sort of a ha ha only serious opener to such a counterpoint on Usenet, typically used amidst flamewars.”

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=Jane%2C+you+ignorant+slut!

    Awesome,

    -Perk

    PS – Dinana, if your looking to get away from CHL holders, Wisconsin is probably not the place to go, lol. Buy some shiny pants and move to the bay.

  12. dinana on said:

    What do you mean buy some shiny pants? Aren’t the 5 pairs I have enough???

    ML…you hadn’t seen this classic SNL skit? It ran for quite a long time, but…if like perry you’re just a pup, well then I can understand that you might not be familliar with it. (or you live under a rock, again like perk)

  13. Mary Lou on said:

    Did you just make a reference to Perk being young?! Oh he is quite childish and rather simple but he is FAR from being a pup. Granted he is not as old and decrepit as he looks, but you could safely assume he is ready to be put out to pasture.

    No I am not a pup either; only a little younger than Perk, but the key is I AM younger and always will be (till he has the money to have me killed).

    I didn’t watch a lot of SNL back in the day. I would like to say it was because I was always out at partys or on dates, but more often than not I missed it because I lost track of time while playing dungeons and dragons in my basement with the only schmuck as pathetic as I was that I called friend.

  14. Di:

    MY RETNAS!!! MY RETNAS!!! (Picturing you in shiny pants…)

    Mary Lou,

    You backstabbing harlot…your days are numbered. (But we should play some D&D before that….)

    -Perk

  15. the duck on said:

    well i really have only one issue (at least one big one) with your facts (though i will say most of those persecuted groups did not have much if any in the way of weapons before any laws relagating their use came into effect.)

    Those issues aside, your assertion that the Japanese refused to invade the US because many Americans owned guns is incredibly naive from a historical perspective.

    The real reason rests more on strategic overextension than armed citizens. The japanese did not have the military resources to make any meaningful attack and were already committed on other fronts like China and in Indo-China that were draining what resources were available.

    Also US industrial might was able to out produce the Japanese so that by April 1942 the Japanese were fighting a primarily defense war. I think in general such ‘facts’ have little real value as they are incredibly misleading.

  16. Hey all,

    Just a note on the above comment by “The Duck.”

    I’ve known this guy forever and, trust me, if he’s making a point about history, don’t bother arguing it…he’ll be right.

    LOL,

    -Perk

  17. The Duck on said:

    You’d be ‘quackers’ to disagree.

  18. I just got “Mary Lou’s” post in an email form my uncle…. I love these things. The stats about Australia are from _1997_. and are so grossly manipulated it’s not even funny. Check out snopes:
    http://www.snopes.com/crime/statistics/ausguns.asp
    And, for any killing with AK-47’s….. how about a 12 year old girl, 3 days ago?
    http://pittsburghdish.typepad.com/pittsburgh_dish/2008/01/arrest-made-in.html
    Just my 2 cents. Not that truth will change anyone’s opinion.

  19. Ben,

    Wow, you’re misinformed on so many levels.

    I’ll try to take this slow…

    #1: Your “Snoops” quotes.

    First of all, I’d like to know WHO posted that on snoops? What are their qualifications? Where did they get their data? Your linked article tell us none of that. For all we know, YOU could have posted it. Second, if you READ the snoops article carefully, you’ll notice that it never actually denies ANY of the statistics mentioned above. It merely tell us that you “can’t trust” statistics in general (and does so by quoting its OWN statistics, lol. THERE is a liberal argument for you!)

    #2: Your “Drive BY” article.

    The weapon used in the drive by you posted the link to is, as yet, unidentified. Again, you need to READ the articles you’re posting to back your argument. Even if it WAS an AK-47 that was used, it seem unlikely, based on the evidence, that it was a fully-auto weapon.

    A fully-auto AK-47 fires about 10 rounds per SECOND. Only 40 shots were fired in total, between the TWO weapons “suspected” to be used.

    Also, and I quote your article again, “The gangs deal drugs and illegal firearms…”

    So, I ask you the same question that’s been asked over and over again…how does limiting my ability, as a legal, licensed gun-owner, keep gang-bangers from using illegal weapons? How does it do anything but insure that only those who are willing and intent on breaking the law are armed?

    Ben, here’s what it comes down to…if you really want to see change, and not just whine about gun control, start lobbying that these gang animals be convicted of murder and strung up on public television on the six o’clock news.

    You let their gang-buddies watch them twitch in the wind until their dead, and maybe they’ll start reconsidering their life choices.

    But, then again, it’s easier to whine, isn’t it? Especially when you have a big crowd of liberals to whine along with.

    -Perk

    PS – You are also mistaken in your final comment.

    The “truth” WILL change people’s opinion. The baseless, unresearched, unsubstantiated rhetoric that YOU offer however, will not.

  20. Pingback: Blogs » A little gun history Just another day in cubeville…

  21. Carol Anne on said:

    I don’t own a gun. I vote for those I believe will protect me and my family, fight for human rights, and treat everyone equally.

    I am not interested in being “protected” by right-wing conservative gun owners who treat women and gays as second class citizens by preventing them from enjoying the rights all people deserve.

    I am not interested in being “protected” by greedy Republican sharp-shooters who believe the rich should not pay their fair share of taxes.

    I am not interested in being “protected” by Christian “hunters” who insinuate religion into government, prayer in schools, and foster bigotry against other world religions, atheists, and agnostics.

    I am not interested in being “protected” by AK47 enthusiasts who prevent the majority-elected President from moving forward on the platform we voted for.

    I am not interested in being “protected” by whacky, extremist anarchists/bigots now polishing target skills with guns of war.

    No thank you, gun enthusiasts. Your propaganda is a sham.

    Guns aimed by people kill innocent children, women, and men.

    I wasn’t born yesterday.

Leave a Reply

