PDX Networker

Connecting small businesses for fun and profit…

The Power of an Apology

Hey everyone,

Last week I had to do something I hate doing, something I’m not particularly good at, something I probably don’t do often enough…I had to apologize.

I misread a review of one of my novels and, in a fit of self-righteous pique; I posted a response on the reviewer’s blog, stating in no uncertain terms what I thought about it.

The reviewer posted back an equally terse reply, basically telling me to grow up (which, as it turned out, wasn’t such bad advice.)

Once I’d had a chance to calm down, have a cup of coffee, pet the dog, etc, I re-read the original review and, much to my chagrin, realized that I’d misunderstood the writer’s attempt at a bit of humor, and had responded inappropriately.

Actually, even if the reviewer’s comments hadn’t been tongue-in-cheek, I’d still responded inappropriately!

So, striving against my nature, I bit my lip and posted an apology, outlining my misinterpretation, and admitting that, no matter what, my response had been juvenile.

Luckily, this reviewer had a better grasp on his temper (and his sense of professionalism) than I had shown. He accepted my apology, and even went so far as to repost to the review, clarifying that his remark had been satirical.

THEN, he ordered a copy of another novel to review!

Talk about being humbled!

What I could have just left as a whiney, defensive comment for the world to read and judge me by, became an opportunity to create a relationship, garner a new customer, and even get some additional (positive) publicity for my business!

The reason I’m posting this is that I read a great article this morning by my favorite marketing guru, Shel Horowitz. I get Shel’s monthly eNewsletter “Frugal Marketing Tips” and the February issue is titled, “Rebuilding A Business Relationship That Went Bad.”

Shel’s experience mirrored my own so closely that I figured many of us, in the day-to-day mosh-pit of running our own business, had probably thrown a few elbows we wish we hadn’t.

I wish I’d read this two weeks ago, lol!

So, take a look at the article and good luck. I’m going to get another cup of coffee and see if I can wash the taste of crow out of my mouth.

Till next time,

-Perk

PS – There’s lot’s of other top-notch info on Shel’s site, and you can sign up for any of his free monthly newsletters there as well. It’d be time well spent!

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “The Power of an Apology

  1. Dinana on said:

    So maybe you’re not just getting OLDER (happy birthday!) but maybe a little, teeny tiny bit wiser??? I have my doubts…but, in honor of your birthday (yes, you’re MUCH, MUCH younger than me) I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt!

    And…I’ll think of you fondly as I spend Saturday, your birthday, on the beach in sunny southern CA, amping up for the next 5 days at DisneyLand!!!

  2. Yeah…yeah…yeah…

    Hey, have a great time in Spendyland…kick the guy in the Goofy costume…I hear they love that!

    -Perk

    PS – I am, admittedly, a bit jealous about the warm beach thing, though. LOL.

  3. Mary Lou on said:

    For the record, the REALLY don’t like it when you abuse the costumed people…or so I have heard.

    Hey Perry Happy birthday! I know you are getting up there in years so just remember what the old saying “you are only as old as the woman you feel” I am guessing Vic is at least a decade younger than you, so you have that going for you.

  4. Dinana on said:

    If they don’t like it, then it sounds like it’s just what they need…that which doesn’t kill you…etc, etc, etc…

    Look for me in the news reports!

  5. This makes me think of the ONLY redeeming feature of the movie “Encino Man.”

    The scene where they’re at the water slide park and they keep body-checking the guy in the costume…that makes the whole movie worth it right there!

    The scene in “9 Months” where Tom Arnold beats the crap out of the “Barney” in the baby store is pretty awesome too!

    LOL,

    Perk

  6. I will give credit to my wise husband by not making a comment about Mary Lou’s assertion that I must be a decade younger than Perk.

    You’re very kind, Mary Lou. A liar, but very kind…

  7. jen_blad on said:

    Thanks for the encouragement! I guess a healthy dose of crow may help lower cholestrol. :O) Seriously, I tip my hat. Great job taking the high road after visiting the slums.

  8. Jen,

    Thanks!

    Seriously, I’ve eaten so much crow in my time, that I should write a “1001 Recipes” cookbook, lol!

    -Perk

Leave a Reply

