PDX Networker

Connecting small businesses for fun and profit…

The Shack 2

Okay…

I started reading ‘The Shack” a couple of weeks ago, and posted on it.

I’m about 60 pages into this novel and I don’t think I like where it is taking me. I’m not feeling much forgiveness at this point. If that shocks you, you should probably stop reading now.

The main character’s daughter has been abducted by a serial killer, and they’ve just found her bloody clothes in a shack in the woods.

My stomach is churning as I look at my own baby girl…every time the author names the girl, I see Gracie.

All platitudes and “good Christian” moralities aside (forgive my honesty, or don’t, it’s up to you) I want this guy. Not caught and convicted, not sentenced and punished…I look at Gracie, and I want him. Somewhere far away from the authorities, where it’s just me and him…alone…for a long time.

If this shocks you, I’m sorry, but I’m just speaking from my heart.

This book is taking me places I don’t really want to go…

I wonder….God loved me enough to allow his own child to be tortured and killed on my behalf…would I make the same sacrafice…I don’t think so…

More soon.

-Perk

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Shack 2

  1. You sound very normal to me. I love your honesty. I too, would be reluctant to offer any of my girls as a living sacrifice even if the whole of mankind could be saved because of it. It’s not easy even letting go of them to live their own lives and make their own choices…..you’ll see what I mean, sooner than you think.

    As far as the reality of the unfairness of life, I have to trust in the fact that God is just.

    Keep reading and keep sharing. I know the feelings you’re feeling are difficult even if it happening vicariously. I think they are feelings only a parent can know…….love can be painful, but think of all the joy we’d miss if we have the opportunity of being parents.

  2. I very carefully avoided purchasing this book only to have my wonderful MIL give it to me a few weeks ago. It’s still sitting- unopened. My mom read it a few months back and said she was still mulling it over–that worried me. I read the back of the book and it was enough.
    I admire your courage and bravery. I’m just not brave enough. My mind already has enough problems relaxing about my kids’ safety. I just can’t do it.
    Bless you, man.
    di

  3. Like you, I have heard mixed, strongly opposing reviews. I have been watching the thrift-stores for it. I have heard that it is Biblically unsound, but would like to read it myself. Will be interested to read your posts and comments.

Leave a Reply

