PDX Networker

Connecting small businesses for fun and profit…

Bulk Food Storage Idea

Hey all,

 

Okay, so we’ve been trying to pinch some pennies around the ol’ TeamPerk clubhouse, and one way we’ve found to do so is to start buying a lot of out “staples” in bulk. (Usually on red-eye trips to Winco to avoid the horrible crowds…)

 

The only problem for me, as the cook, was that I ended up with upwards of a dozen plastic bags of stuff (rice, oatmeal, couscous, beans, etc) all piled together on a shelf.

 

Plus, I had to go find the little recipe card for each whenever I wanted to cook something.

 

Luckily, I also shop at Costco for a few items, milk being one of them. Now, to be honest, I hate the new milk containers when it comes to pouring milk, and end up grumbling as I wipe up spills at least half the time.

 

p10102441

 

However, I also discovered that those new milk jugs happen to fit perfectly on the shelf that I keep the bulk foods on…and the following recycle project was born!

 

 

p1010245

STEP ONE: Wash the empty jug with soap and water and allow it to air dry for a couple of days (btw, the label is very easy to remove when the jug is full of hot water.)

 

 

p1010246

STEP TWO: Take the “recipe card” (these are usually in a rack on each bulk food aisle) and tape it securely to the front of the jug. I used packing tape and covered the whole label so it would remain water, stain, and wear proof.

 

 

p1010248

STEP THREE: Use a funnel to fill the jug with your bulk food. I found that the jugs work fine for just about any food except the larger pastas and dog biscuits, lol. I picked up this funnel years ago in the automotive section at Wal-Mart for a couple of bucks. The spout fits the jug opening like it was made for it.

 

 

 

p1010247

As an added bonus, I’ve found that it’s REALLY easy to pour the contents into a measuring cup (as demonstrated here by my lovely assistant.)

 

That’s it!

 

All my bulk foods can be stacked side by side for easy access, and easily refilled (if you wanted to be REALLY picky about it, you could fill the container a cup at a time and make hash-marks on the side so you know how much you’re using on a weekly/monthly basis.)  Also, I’ve got my recipe right there with the food and never have to go find it!

 

Plus, given the truckloads of milk my daughter goes through, I always have a ready supply, and a little more room in the recycle bin each week.

 

NOTE: If you need smaller containers and need to optimize your space, the plastic ½ gallon milk containers are shaped just like this and take up a lot less room.

I may need to start getting out more…

 

-Perk

 

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Bulk Food Storage Idea

  1. This is precisely what we have been doing with the Costco mayo jugs, since we don’t drink milk. It is much nicer that having bulk bags with those obnoxious twist ties fall out of the dry goods cupboard whenever I open the door.

    It works well for everything that comes in packages smaller than, say, 10 lbs. I find that the 25# of rice fits nicely in a rubbermaid container. I still need to find a good solution for the 12.5# of pintos.

    Bulk is marvelous! Definitely a way to pinch pennies.

  2. Acerbic Villian on said:

    I’ve found that a mixture of our farm fertilizer and diesel fuel also fit nicely in those jugs…

    wait… wrong blog.

  3. AV…

    Well, if there was a list that you weren’t on before, you’re on it now!

    LOL,

    -P

  4. Acerbic Villian on said:

    Umm… I don’t know what you’re talking about..

    Down with whitey!!!

  5. Mrs. E Nigma on said:

    So simple and yet so brilliant! We keep the old milk jugs and pour the Costco milk into them because I have had too many times where I was tempted to swear in front of my children because “this @#$^%%^* jug spills too!” Feel free to insert your own favorite curse word or words there. Really, how cheap can I get?

  6. Wow! Aren’t you just the Don Aslett of the pantry! Great idea!
    We also buy our milk at Costco but have yet to see those milk jugs. I like to store our rice and beans in the huge pickle jars.

  7. marylou on said:

    Are you growing out your nails? Your hands look uncharacteristically pretty.

    Also a great idea on the costco jugs.

  8. Acerbic Villian on said:

    I’ve always thought Perry’s hands were quite pretty. Have you seen him in a sun dress?

    YOWZA!!!

  9. AV-

    marylou can’t afford that date.

    -P

  10. Hey! Those were MY nails, thank you very much!

    AV- back away from my husband or I’ll take your idea of what to use the costco jugs for! Why does the blonde bombshell you’re married to put up with these comments from you?!?

  11. Pingback: HauteMealz Blog

  12. Pingback: Confessions of a Grcery Ninja | HauteMealz Blog

  13. Pingback: Confesssions of a Grocery Ninja | hautemealz blog

  14. Pingback: Confessions of a Grocery Ninja | hautemealz.com

  15. Pingback: Confessions of a Grocery Ninja | SimplySmartDinnerPlans

Leave a Reply

